CONEWAGO TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES October 22, 2012

The regular meeting of the Conewago Township Planning Commission was called to order at 7:00 p.m. David Zambito, James McCoy and Charles Zitnick Fritz Neufeld acting secretary were present.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The previous minutes were approved on a motion by, James McCoy seconded by, Charles Zitnick motion carried. Vote: 3 to 0

RECOGNITION OF PUBLIC REQUESTS:

OLD BUSINESS:

NEW BUSINESS:

Diocese of Harrisburg representative, John Matthew, presented a request to operate a house of worship in an agricultural zone at 535 Conewago Creek Rd. Also a variance/ interpretation on building height concerning the steeple were also discussed. Charles Zitnick and Jim McCoy planning board members noted that they are members of the church and indicated that no financial gain will be received on the project. Neither had any opposition from the public if they voted. On a motion by Dave Zambito 2nd by Jim McCoy to recommend approval for the house of worship. Motion carried the vote recorded 3-0. On a motion by Dave Zambito 2nd by Jim McCoy to recommend approval to exceed the 35 foot building height. Motion carried the vote recorded 3-0.

Autumn Woods Home Owners Assoc. representative, John Hindman, presented the request for an interpretation/ variance to exceed the square footage for a development sign/monument. The board had discussion weather the face of the sign included the stone work. The zoning officer read section 402 (a)(1)- The size of the sign shall refer to the area of the sign facing, including any border framing or decorative attachments. The board agreed that the proposed sign is in harmony with the development size homes. Dave Zambito is a resident of the development and indicated that no financial gain will be received on the project. Dave had no opposition from the public if he voted. On a motion by Jim McCoy 2nd by Charles Zitnick to approve the variance request. Motion carried the vote recorded 3-0.

ADJOURNMENT: Meeting was adjourned at 7:28 p.m. on a motion by Jim McCoy, second by Charles Zitnick, unanimously carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Acting Recording Secretary

Fritz Neinfeld